Milos is a volcanic island, located in the southernmost part of the Cyclades islands complex. It has been inhabited since prehistoric times and has significant mineral wealth such as obsidian, bentonite, perlite etc., due to its volcanic activity.
The famous statue of Venus de Milo, which is now in the Louvre Museum, was found in Milos in 1820 while the copy is in the Archaeological Museum of Milos in Plaka.
There are more than 70 beaches ready to explore, some of which are accessible by land, while others only by sea.
The catacombs of Milos are considered one of the three most important catacombs in the world along with those of Rome and the Holy Land.
The most famous sightseen of Milos was a hideout of pirates from the 15th to the end of 17th century. Many famous pirates had Kleftiko as their prime attack location due to the very good visibility of merchant boats travelling through the Aegean Sea.
It is located at the Southwest tip of the island and has access only from the sea.
The imposing rock formations, elaborate caves and crystal-clear waters will tempt you to jump in the water and explore with us this historic place.
Sarakiniko is one of the most famous beaches on the island. Its beauty is a result of the white volcanic rocks that makes it look like a lunar landscape. The white of the rocks and the blue of the sea create this geological landscape adorning Milos with another natural treasure.
The beach got its name from the Saracen pirates who used it as a base. In some places around the beach, you may also find some bollards for pirate ships.
Klima is one of the most colorful villages of Milos located near Tripiti, on the side of the Gulf of Milos. The scenic beauty of Klima is due to its “sirmata”, the fishermen houses, which are carved into the rocks. Each sirma has a different color door at the bottom where in winter they protected their fishing boats from bad weather.
Here you may also enjoy one of the best sunsets of the island.
The cave of Sykia is in the southwestern part of Milos and can be visited only by boat.
What makes it particularly special is the fact that its roof has collapsed and thus, the light coming in from this opening creates a fairytale landscape.
It took its name from a fig tree in the cave, which collapsed along with the last part of the roof about 30 years ago.
Thiorichia were very famous for the mineral wealth from the ancient years until more recent times. The mine was producing big quantities of Sulphur and other minerals. The workers lived on the premises of the sulfur mines on weekdays where the working conditions in the galleries were difficult, mainly due to lack of ventilation and high temperatures. In the ‘60s the production stopped permanently due to reduced demand when the sulfur became a byproduct of petroleum refining at very low cost.
The old Manganese mine is located at Cape Vani. The mine operated from 1886 to 1909 and from 1918 to 1928 when it closed permanently due to reduced demand after the end of WWI. There are still the abandoned facilities in the area.
The intense red colors of the rocks make Vani to look like a turtle shell.
Gerakas beach is in the southern part of the island and is accessible only with a boat. The turquoise waters and sand slides are some of the reasons why this beach is one of our favorites.
On the beach there is a cave with hot springs. These were created due to the active volcano of Agia Kyriaki which is located above the beach
Glaronisia got their name from the permanent inhabitants of these three rocky islets, the seagulls! They are in the northern part of the island and can be visited only by boat.
These small islands are result of volcanic lava due to geological turbulences thousands of years ago. Due to the alternation of temperatures between the lava and the sea, vertical hexagonal columns were formed and created a unique attraction.
The complex of these rocky islets is located at the entrance of the gulf of Milos and can be visited only by boat. These rocks are sculpted from the sea in such a way that, depending on the angle from which one sees them, the rocks take the form of a bear, a rabbit, and other animals, whence their name.
The catacombs of Milos are located below Tripiti village and are dated from the 1st up to the 5th century AD. Along with the catacombs of Rome and the Holy Land, they are considered the most important finds of the Early Christian Years, out of the 74 catacombs found around the world. The catacombs are 184 meters long and about 8,000 Christians were buried inside.
In 2009, the Holy Synod declared Milos a sacred island as her catacombs is one of the oldest monuments of Christianity.